Banner image

Spotlight Series | Meet Helen

This week’s spotlight shines on our Area Network Manager, Helen. Covering the North East and London, Helen has been with OneSearch for over three years. Take it away Helen…

What does a typical working day look like for you?

I usually log in to work at 8am when my daughter leaves for school and while my son is eating his breakfast. This gives me a chance to catch up on any emails and request appointments before the councils start sending searches back to me. At 8:30am, I take my son and dog on the school run and usually get back shortly after 9am, ready to start uploading returned requests for information. Before lockdown, I would spend mornings driving to councils to get the necessary information but for now everything is being emailed, which means I can enjoy a nice cup of tea while I work!

Most of the morning is spent uploading and chasing searches while my dog sleeps under my desk/dining room table. In the afternoon, I usually request more appointments and catch up with emails, or take part in Teams calls with my line manager until 3, when it is time for the school run again! I get home around 3:30pm, then pick up any late search returns.

Do you feel you get a good work/life balance with OneSearch?

I find that I have an excellent work life balance. Working remotely means that I am always able to do the school run, which means a lot to me. I am also able to attend school events and enjoy time off knowing that my team are able to help out with covering my areas.

What do you like best about your job?

I love the fact that I am trusted to get on with things. While I have regular contact with my manager, I feel that I can work independently to get everything done. I also find the land charges really interesting, particularly with new developments. Sometimes the entries can spark old memories from when a development site was a quarry, hospital or wildlife park.


When not “in the office”, you can usually find me:

Outdoors. With 2 kids and a very large and energetic dog I’m usually tramping through the local woods or parks regardless of weather, or camping in our bell tent during the warmer months. I also enjoy vintage events, particularly 1940’s re-enactments where I covet all of the wonderful outfits!

Three things I would struggle to live without are:

  1. My morning cup of tea
  2. Red lipstick
  3. Flat shoes

My last meal on earth would be…

If I had a choice then probably a vindaloo from our local Indian restaurant. I love all things spicy!

And finally… meet Louie! He is a Lurcher/German Shepherd cross that we rescued in January.  The picture doesn’t do him justice, he looks a lot smaller than he actually is.

To see the rest of our Spotlight Series, click here.

Get in touch